Who We Are

Manawatu Multicultural Council (MMC) is a recognised and established charitable organisation which has been operating within Palmerston North for over 27 years providing an essential point of contact for new migrants, refugees and newcomers to the City. The Council operates as a coordinating body for the many different ethnic groups and operates to provide information, resources and activities providing opportunities to get information on all aspects of New Zealand life and facilitating the forming of social connections.

MMC latest AGM was on Tuesday 13 October 2020

The following where elected:

Executive Members

President: Nina Kirschbaum - Global Parents Support Group

Vice-President: Maria Loureiro - Palmeirinhos - Brazilian Community

Secretary: Tania Kopytko - Manawatu Russian Dance Group

Treasurer: Angel Kwan - Global Parents Support Group.

Committee Members

Teisa Kurene - International Group

Netra Ghimire - Bhutanese Community

Manmit Singh - Indian Socio-Cultural Society

46 Financial Members

  1. Bhutanese Society
  2. Manawatu Afghan Society Inc.
  3. Central Districts Indian Association - www.paulpatelandassociates
  4. Ethiopian Community
  5. Alliance Francaise de Palmerston North
  6. Kenyan Association
  7. Kerala Association of Palmerston North
  8. International Group
  9. Global Parent Support Group
  10. Manawatu Bengali Society
  11. Manawatu Cambodian Buddhist Trust
  12. Manawatu Irish Society
  13. Manawatu Malaysian Society
  14. Manawatu Muslim Association
  15. Manawatu Telugu Association
  16. Manawatu Thai Society
  17. Mexican Society
  18. Network of Skilled Migrants Manawatu
  19. New Zealand Arab Association
  20. New Zealand Chinese Association, Manawatu Branch Incorporated.
  21. Palmerston North Social Club Society
  22. Persian Association
  23. Philippine Central Districts Association
  24. Scandinavian Club of Manawatu
  25. Pamanlahi Cultural Group
  26. Burmese Muslim Community
  27. Network of Skilled Migrants Manawatu
  28. Sri Lankan Community of Palmerston North
  29. Brazilian Community
  30. Nigerian Community
  31. Sikh Community of PN
  32. Japanese Community of PN
  33. Ukrainian Educational Trust
  34. Bengale Society of PN
  35. Manawatu Russian Dance Group
  36. Manawatu Chinese Community Trust
  37. NZ Designers Club
  38. Manawatu Rwandan Community
  39. Indian NZ Socio-Cultural Society
  40. Le Masina O Samoa Culture Group
  41. Palestinian/Syrian Community
  42. Awapuni Rotary Club
  43. Manawatu Afghan Society Inc.
  44. Pakistan - NZ Friendship Association Inc.
  45. Manawatu Rohingya Association Incorporated (MRAI)
  46. Community Indonesian Manawatu (PREMIUM)
  47. Massey University Hong Kong Students' Association
  48. Manawatu Fiji Indian Society
  49. Active Learning
  50. Latin Community
  51. Palmy Vietnamese Association (PVA)
  52. Manawatu Hindu Society (MHS)